<span class="highlight">Camping</span> in Maytown Area

I'm currently planning a trip to Cape York and will have 6 other vehicles in my convoy. As you can imagine finding camping spots can be a bit difficult with groups this large and requires a little more research than usual. I am wondering if any of the good folks on Exploreoz can help me out with the following information:

GPS coordinates for the Palmer River Camping Area and Dog Leg Crossing Camping Area - DERM QLD website say they are the Maytown designated campsites but don't give much more info.

Anyone willing to send me a photo of either or both of these sites would be most appreciated. Email to patrolpete22@gmail.com.

Thanks in adavance.

Pete

Reply By: Member - Alan H (QLD) - Thursday, Jan 05, 2012 at 09:59

Thursday, Jan 05, 2012 at 09:59
Don't know if it is of interest or not but the road from Maytown through to Palmerville is now open again. (it was closed while a dispute with landowners was settled)

Many years ago we did a trip from Laura to Maytown and then through Palmerville down to Chillagoe. Even then the maps we had of Palmerville goldfields were thrown out by extensive gold mining operations. This was before moving map etc. The road from Laura was just passable then (a very slow crawl in low range) but the trip went through some great areas and there was plenty to see of old mines, machinery etc and of course the streets of Maytown.

I do not know about current conditions but back then there were plenty of large camp sites.

Enjoy the area.

AnswerID: 474098

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Thursday, Jan 05, 2012 at 15:34

Thursday, Jan 05, 2012 at 15:34
G'day Alan,

We did this trip in '93 and recall that there were 3 tracks going in from Laura, we miistakingly took the old Cobb and Co coach track which took us something like 7 hours to do 50 k building the track as we went. Most scary thing we have ever done in a 4WD, we managed to get lost going in and going out a map and compass were of no use as there were many tracks etc. The bride nearly gave up on 4wding the kids thought it was just great.

We camped on the river then as there was limited room anywhere. On reflection it was a trip that certainly helped me decide on getting a GPS and long range tanks.

It was a great place to camp. Good to hear that it has become a little easier now.

FollowupID: 749033

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Thursday, Jan 05, 2012 at 17:09

Thursday, Jan 05, 2012 at 17:09
Thanks Alan. I haven't done this trip before as we got told to bugger off in 2004 by the Palmerville Stn owner....we were approaching from Chillagoe side. This time I'm hoping to get through this time around and with the convoy just hoping that I can get everyone to fit into a campsite. There will be 4 x off road campers among the group.
FollowupID: 749045

Reply By: Rockape - Thursday, Jan 05, 2012 at 10:26

Thursday, Jan 05, 2012 at 10:26
Pete,
I will second what Alan H has said re the camping. There used to be heaps of spots to camp either at the Palmer river crossing or further on around Maytown. The only thing is I haven't been there since 2007 and mining and national parks may have changed things.

Here is a photo of Palmer River crossing.
AnswerID: 474099

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Thursday, Jan 05, 2012 at 17:30

Thursday, Jan 05, 2012 at 17:30
Thanks for the help Rockape
FollowupID: 749047

Follow Up By: Fatso - Thursday, Jan 05, 2012 at 21:40

Thursday, Jan 05, 2012 at 21:40
G'day Patrol22.
Rockapes photo is of Dog Leg Crossing.
There is a large camping area just on from this on a near permanent waterhole. It's quire a pretty bottlebrush lined waterhole with a nice hill for a backdrop.
It's a huge area & if there aren't a heap of people already there it will definitely accommodate you.
The dog leg camp-site has a good covering of cooch early in the season & no shade. The shade isn't so much of a problem if it is in the cooler months.
Here is the address for DRM info on the camp-sites.

http://www.derm.qld.gov.au/parks/palmer-goldfield/camping.html#dog_leg_crossing_camping_area

I see they don't allow fires there anymore. I think a lot of people ignore that rule though.
I haven't camped on the North Palmer before so I can't help you there. Surely someone else can.

Fatso
FollowupID: 749092

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Friday, Jan 06, 2012 at 07:52

Friday, Jan 06, 2012 at 07:52
Thanks Fatso....you wouldn't happen to know the coordinates for Dog Leg Crossing would you?
FollowupID: 749120

Follow Up By: Fatso - Friday, Jan 06, 2012 at 13:48

Friday, Jan 06, 2012 at 13:48
Not a clue about the coordinates sorry Patrol22.
It is the most common entry point to the reserve. The river here is the boundary of the reserve.
If you come in from the Mulligan Highway (was Peninsular Dev Road) about 15 km South of the Palmer River Roadhouse (at Whites Ck I think) you will come to Dog Leg Crossing.
If you are going out through the North of the reserve it gets a bit serious. There are some good rocky steps that you have to get up. Lots of low range.
Don't take on Dog Leg Crossing if it is running deep. I've heard that when it is up on your bonnet depth it has a mongrel of a bottom.
In rockapes photo it would be the place to take a swim & wash some dust off.

There is a forum that talks predominately about Cape York. That might have something.
This is the address. Sorry, I don't know how to make a link yet.

http://capeyorkforums.com/forums/index.php

Fatso
FollowupID: 749149

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Friday, Jan 06, 2012 at 14:30

Friday, Jan 06, 2012 at 14:30
Thanks Fatso much appreciated.
FollowupID: 749154

Follow Up By: Gold Miner - Wednesday, Jan 11, 2012 at 10:02

Wednesday, Jan 11, 2012 at 10:02
Hey Pete,
The waypoint for Dog Leg crossing is S16 05 28.9 E144 19 48.8
May I ask when you intend going up?
FollowupID: 749597

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Thursday, Jan 12, 2012 at 17:38

Thursday, Jan 12, 2012 at 17:38
Thanks Gold Miner
FollowupID: 749703

Follow Up By: Gold Miner - Saturday, Jan 14, 2012 at 01:23

Saturday, Jan 14, 2012 at 01:23
No Worries!!
The only reason I ask as to when you intend to go up is that right now, obviously, it can be treachorous with the creeks etc!!
Sth Palmer, Firey, Granite are just a few of the 'creeks' I could name that can ruin your day!! And we aint even got to the big river yet!!

The Whites creek road now is somewhat of a freeway compared to a few years ago, the 'Fitzy crew' along with Cook Shire have made Maytown a more accessable place to all.... but the wet (when it comes...????) can turn things around quickly.

Everything you no doubt have read about this area via U-tube & google is true!! Its a true paradise. Its an off road 4wd heaven! Things break and you're 100ks from anywhere!! Good stuff eh?

Last year, we picked up nigh on a truck load of crap left by 'visitors'.
The best bit Danny picked up, was a tucker box freezer, thrown in the bush, wasnt much wrong with it, $5 or 10 got it going I think......not the point though eh?

I suppose what us miners in the area are concerned with is that people treat the area with respect!!
FollowupID: 749820

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Saturday, Jan 14, 2012 at 07:51

Saturday, Jan 14, 2012 at 07:51
Yeah can understand where you are coming from Gold Miner. Our plan is to be there around the 2nd week of August this year....and I can assure you that we will leave nothing but our footprints in the dust. We are an older bunch with the pup amongst us being in her late 40s. In a former life I was what you might call and "almost local" - I grew up in Mossman, did my apprenticeship with the then CREB and worked for Comalco in Weipa for a year or so. I've spent that last 4 decades working for the Navy....32 years of that in uniform.
Cheers and thanks again for your advice.
Pete
FollowupID: 749825

Follow Up By: Gold Miner - Saturday, Jan 14, 2012 at 11:57

Saturday, Jan 14, 2012 at 11:57
Good stuff Pete!
A perfect time to go up there! A bit cold at night though!
You will pass through one of our leases when you go along the Maytown/Laura track, I'll keep an eye out for your 'convoy' and give ya a call! (most of the miners and road crew etc are on channel 40 uhf)
FollowupID: 749845

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Saturday, Jan 14, 2012 at 14:22

Saturday, Jan 14, 2012 at 14:22
Cheers mate.....I'll give a call for the Gold Miner if'n I can remember.
FollowupID: 749858

Follow Up By: Gold Miner - Sunday, Jan 15, 2012 at 01:19

Sunday, Jan 15, 2012 at 01:19
Ha Ha!
That'd be choice eh? Heaps of blokes digging dirt wondering if the 'Gold Miner copy???' call is for them!!!

My nickname is Simmo, we have a camp lease at Jessops creek. Our mining activities are closer to German bar and Maytown itself.

Many a time we sit at home watching people come down the hill to the dam heading to Laura and they would not know that we are out there in the bush looking on!!

I know you will love your trip!

Simmo
FollowupID: 749919

Reply By: Member - OnYaBike - Thursday, Jan 05, 2012 at 13:09

Thursday, Jan 05, 2012 at 13:09
I will email you some docs on Maytown and the Mitchell I have put together over the past 12 months. Some of the research has originated from ExplorOz posts. I haven't been able to test out the info but hope to explore that area in the dry.
AnswerID: 474106

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Thursday, Jan 05, 2012 at 17:30

Thursday, Jan 05, 2012 at 17:30
Much appreciated mate.....I've got the files and responded via email. Thanks again.
Pete
FollowupID: 749048

Reply By: B1B2 - Thursday, Jan 05, 2012 at 19:14

Thursday, Jan 05, 2012 at 19:14
G'day Pete,
We drove the Coach Road in September 2005 on our own, It makes you appreciate how good the coach drivers were in the Cobb & Co days. It was a terrific drive and extremely slow going. I really needed my GPS. The stony creek crossings were overgrown so badly it was hard to find the track, and the track was seriously rocky.
We camped at S16 03.073 E144 17.342 on the Palmer River, Maytown and there was no one else around.
Copy this position into Google earth and it will show you the exact location and you can see how much room you have. I think it would be enough room.
enjoy the trip,

AnswerID: 474145

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Thursday, Jan 05, 2012 at 19:29

Thursday, Jan 05, 2012 at 19:29
Thanks Bill. Is that right in the heart of the old Town? I'm told that DERM has made a few rule changes in the last couple of years and now have just 2 designated campsites. That said we make a habit of making minimal impact anywhere we go so if push really comes to shove we'll set up where we can. I will give the local ranger a call and have a chat with him/her just to make sure we don't step on anyone's toes. Thanks again.
Pete
FollowupID: 749068

Reply By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Sunday, Jan 15, 2012 at 11:07

Sunday, Jan 15, 2012 at 11:07
Have the cops sorted out that nut-job on the road from Palmervale to Maytown yet?
AnswerID: 474949

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Sunday, Jan 15, 2012 at 11:59

Sunday, Jan 15, 2012 at 11:59
Yeah Scott the Cook Shire took compulsory acquisition action to reclaim the road. See here for more info
FollowupID: 749943

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Sunday, Jan 15, 2012 at 12:24

Sunday, Jan 15, 2012 at 12:24
From what I remember, he wasn't adverse to taking the odd pot-shot as well.

Good news.

FollowupID: 749944